Washington: On Friday, Facebook’s messaging service giant WhatsApp once again withdrew from its plan to force users to accept the new terms. Critics say this may expand the scope of data collection for its 2 billion users worldwide.
WhatsApp was originally scheduled to implement a new data sharing policy on May 15, but it was delayed due to user outcry. The company stated on its website that it will not immediately cut off users who do not accept the new terms, although it will Send reminders to people who have not opted in.
The update will allow WhatsApp to share more information with Facebook and other applications (such as Instagram and Messenger), such as contact and profile data, but not share the still encrypted message content.
The platform claims that the update is mainly for businesses who use WhatsApp to chat with customers-allowing them to share data with Facebook.
But critics worry that this may open the door to wider data sharing with Facebook, which may have a potential impact on user privacy.
“No one will have their accounts deleted or lose functionality of WhatsApp on May 15th because of this update,” according to the latest website update, which was seen earlier by The Verge and other media outlets.
But users will get “persistent” reminders about the policy and may lose some functionality if they fail to accept the new terms.
“After giving everyone time to review, we’re continuing to remind those who haven’t had the chance to do so to review and accept,” the web page said.
“After a period of several weeks, the reminder people receive will eventually become persistent.”
At some point, users will “encounter limited functionality on WhatsApp until you accept the updates,” according to the WhatsApp page.
“You won’t be able to access your chat list, but you can still answer incoming phone and video calls.. After a few weeks of limited functionality, you won’t be able to receive incoming calls or notifications and WhatsApp will stop sending messages and calls to your phone.”