Vote recount in NA-249 by-polls continues on second day despite objections

Vote recount in NA-249 by-polls continues on second day despite objections


Karachi: The recount of the NA-249 by-election for the National Assembly (NA) constituency continues on the second day today (Friday), despite all parties except the Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) opposing it.

Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), Bakki Salzaman Party (PSP) and Pakistan Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM-P) boycotted the counting of votes, And claimed to be stamped. The bag is broken.

PTI asked the authorities to hold re-election in electoral districts, while PML-N submitted a petition.

Earlier, a total of 683 votes were rejected in the recount of votes from 60 polling stations in the controversial NA-249 by-election in Karachi. Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) issued notices to the boycotting candidates to be part of the recount but they did not return.

It is to be mentioned here that the development came after ECP had accepted the plea of PML-N and ordered recount in NA-249 by-elections.

During the hearing, PML-N candidate Miftah Ismail has submitted the details of the unsigned Form 45 to the committee and requested an investigation of the violation.

He added that recounting is our top priority, and if we are not satisfied, we can take further measures.

He said that unverified forms 45 and 46 had made the election suspicious. Form 45 of 167 polling stations was without signatures while some polling agents also didn’t get form 46, PML-N candidate told.

On April 29, 2021, PPP won the by-election in NA-249 Karachi West-II.

According to unofficial results of all 276 polling stations, PPP candidate Qadir Khan Mandokhel had secured 16,156 votes to win the NA-249 Karachi West-II by-election. PML-N candidate Miftah Ismail got 15,473 votes to remain second.

Nazir Ahmed grabbed 11,126 votes and came third. PSP chief Mustafa Kamal got 9,227 votes to remain fourth. PTI candidate Amjad Afridi secured fifth position by obtaining 8,922 votes.

You may also like

%d bloggers like this: