Vote recount in NA-249 by-polls continues on second day despite objections

Vote count begins as polling concludes in NA-249 Karachi by-election


Karachi: Voting for the Karachi West Second District by-election in the NA-249 constituency of the National Assembly has begun at 5 pm.

The Election Commission has made all necessary arrangements to hold the elections in a peaceful manner. The polling starts at 8 am and continues until 5 pm without any interruption.

According to sources, presiding officers had been directed that pictures of Form-45 be sent to returning officers in presence of polling agents of contesting candidates.

Amjad Afridi of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), Miftah Ismail of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), Qadir Khan Madokhel of Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP), Mustafa Kamal of Pak Sarzameen Party (PSP) and Mohammad Mursaleen of Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P) are among the 30 candidates taking part in the by-election.

There are 339,591 registered voters in the constituency out of which 201,656 are male and 137,935 are female voters who exercised their right of vote today.

At least 276 polling stations have been established in the constituency, of which 184 have been declared highly sensitive and 92 polling stations have been declared sensitive.

You may also like

%d bloggers like this: