Sikandar Sultan Raja appointed new CEC for five years


Islamabad: On Friday, retired bureaucrat Sikandar Sultan Raja was appointed as the new Chief Electoral Commissioner (CEC) after approval from a parliamentary committee.

According to a report from the Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs, Nisar Durrani of Sindh and Shah Mohamed Jatori of Balochistan Province were also recruited as members of the Pakistani Election Commission (ECP).

Earlier, a parliamentary committee led by the federal human rights minister named Shireen Mazari Sikandar Sultan Raja as the new CEC.

Human rights minister Shireen Mazari said that the settlement of the parliament by consensus was very satisfactory. She said the name was forwarded to Prime Minister Imran Khan.

It should be mentioned here that CEC positions have been vacant since 6 December and that ECP members in Sindh and Balochistan have not been appointed for a year.

As we all know, the government and opposition have withdrawn the previously proposed names for the appointment of CEC.

The government proposed the names Babar Jacob Fatah, Arif Khan and Fazar Abbas Macken, while the opposition recommended Nasir Mahmoud Kosa, Jalil • Abbas Gilani and Ahrak Ahmad Talal.

A new name is then recommended.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

You may also like

Hot News