PTI likely to win 23 seats in Senate election next year

PTI likely to win 23 seats in Senate election next year


Islamabad: Giving the party position in the national and provincial assemblies that form the electoral college of the Senate, the upper house of the parliament, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) is likely to win 23 seats in Senate election to be held in March 2021.

The Senate is composed of 104 members, including 23 from each of the four federal units, 8 from Fata and 4 from Islamabad. The 23 seats allocated to a province include 14 general seats, four are reserved for women, four are reserved for technical experts, and one is reserved for minorities.

The term of a senator is six years, but 50 per cent of the total number retires after every three years and elections are held for new senators. Elections to fill the seats allocated to each province are held in accordance with the “system of proportional representation by means of the single transferable vote”.

Statistics show that 7 of the current 14 PTI Senators will retire from the Senate in March 2021. Senator Shibli Faraz, Federal Minister of Information and Broadcasting, will retire in March next year.

At least 17 out of 30 senators of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) and eight out of 21 senators of Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) will retire in March next year.

Four senators of Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-Pakistan) will retire. Jamaat-e-Islami (JI) chief Sirajul Haq is also among the retiring senators.

There are two members each from the Jamiat Ulema-i-Islam (JUI-F), National Party (NP) and Pakhtunkhwa Milli Awami Party (PkMAP) and one each from the Balochistan National Party-Mengal (BNP-M), Jamaat-i-Islami (JI) and Awami National Party (ANP) who are retiring from the Senate.

Leader of Opposition in Senate Raja Zafarul Haq, Mushahidullah Khan, Pervaiz Rasheed of the PML-N and Deputy Chairman Senate Saleem Mandviwala, Sherry Rehman, Rehman Malik and Farooq H Naik of the PPP are among the retiring senators.

Syed Shibli Faraz, Mohsin Aziz and Nauman Wazir of the ruling PTI and Abdul Ghafoor Haideri and Maulana Attaur Rehman of JUI-F have all retired from the House of Lords.

You may also like