PSL 6: Lahore Qalandars to face Islamabad United in Abu Dhabi today

PSL 6: Lahore Qalandars to face Islamabad United in Abu Dhabi today


Abu Dhabi: The Pakistan Super League is a resilient event that gets stronger and bigger each year. The 2021 edition is a perfect example of this statement when its resumption overcame all logistical and operational challenges and hurdles to be ready to reconnect with its fans and supporters. PSL 6 will now dominate the television screens over the next 16 days at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi.

Today, Lahore Qalandars and Islamabad United will start the match at 2100 PKT time (2000 UAE time). This will be their first encounter in PSL 6, and their repeat match is scheduled for Sunday, June 13.

Both Qalandars and United, along with Karachi Kings and Peshawar Zalmi, are locked at six points apiece. But, the two sides have played one less match as compared with Kings and Zalmi, meaning Today’s winner will go top of the points table after halfway stage in the competition.

PSL will return to the UAE, which was born in 2016. The 2017 final was held in Lahore.

The last three games of 2018 were held in Pakistan, and the last eight games of 2019 were held in Karachi, although the air corridor was closed after the Pulwama incident and faced operational challenges.

Although interrupted by the Covid-19 outbreak, the entire 2020 tournament was held in four venues in Pakistan from beginning to end. In the 2020 game, a large number of foreign nationals will participate, including those who have previously refused to travel to Pakistan.

Their participation is a testament to and recognition of the security situation in Pakistan, as well as their trust and confidence in the security of Pakistan and the Pakistan Cricket Committee.

The remaining 20 PSL 6 games are challenged from Pakistan, Sri Lanka, India and South Africa, which are all on the red list of the United Arab Emirates. A number of exemptions and approvals were obtained, some of which were revoked at the last minute.

Nevertheless, with the support of the governments of Abu Dhabi and Pakistan, the Abu Dhabi Sports Council and the UAE Cricket Committee, PCB is able to resolve all outstanding issues and is now ready to bring this exciting fast-paced cricket to Fan media as an event will be held in front of empty stands.

However, PCB has promised that the 2022 game will be held in Pakistan, and as the Covid-19 situation improves, it is expected that the game will be held in front of the audience.

In the remaining 20 games, including Usman Kawaja (Islamabad United), Fife Du Plessis (Quetta Gladiators), Martin Guptier (Karachi Kings) , David Miller (Peshawar Zalmi), Himrun Hetmeier (Multan Sultan) and Rashid Khan (Qalandars, Lahore).

Pakistan’s white ball experts and emerging stars will join them, including Babar Azam, Arshad Iqbal, Azam Khan, Fahm Ashraf, Fahar Zaman, Haider Ali, Harris Raouf, Hassan Ali, Imad Wasim, Mohamed Hafiz, Mohammad Hasnair, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Sarfaraz Ahmed , Shaheen Shah Afridi, Sharjeel Khan and Usman Qadir.

These players were selected for the Pakistani men’s team in three T20Is against England and five T20Is against the World Championship in the West Indies.

Just like the tour to England and the West Indies and the upcoming home series against New Zealand and England, HBL PSL 6 will help players, selectors and coaching staff get closer to being the ICC men for their teams. The final decision is made in the T20 World Cup, which is expected to be held in the UAE.

The tournament is ready and the players can’t wait to start. For the next 16 days, fans will also support their favorite cricketers and teams. The conversation will be PSL 6, who will be on June 24th. Sheikh Zayed led the cricket stadium to lift the shiny trophy lights. Currently, Qalandars and Manchester United’s camp are ready for tonight’s game

Lahore Qalandars Captain Sohail Akhtar: “We are very excited about the relaunch of PSL 6 at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi. This venue is lucky for me and the team.

“We have worked hard and have gauged the conditions well in the last few days. We have a formidable squad despite the changes in our foreign players and we will play the brand of cricket that has helped us make a big impact in the last season as well as the Karachi-leg of the PSL 6.

“All teams are balanced in the tournament and I am sure we will see some real quality cricket, in the Qalandars camp, we are fully focussed on winning the trophy.”

Assistant Coach Islamabad United Saeed Ajmal: “We have been practicing for the last four, five days, the team looks well prepared and gelled together. We are fully prepared for the match tomorrow, having practiced hard under the floodlights too. We have gauged the conditions well and hope to give our best tonight.

“Our players look fit and are raring to go, Hasan Ali has looked in great form and rhythm and so has Faheem Ashraf. Colin Munro has also looked in good shape in the nets. I am very confident that we will give Lahore Qalandars a tough time in the match.”

PSL 6 squads for Abu Dhabi-leg:

Final squads (in alphabetical order):

Islamabad United – Shadab Khan (c), Ahmed Saifi Abdullah, Ali Khan, Akif Javed, Asif Ali, Brandon King, Colin Munro, Fawad Ahmed, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Hussain Talat, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Mohammad Akhlaq, Musa Khan, Rohail Nazir, Umar Amin, Usman Khawaja, Zafar Gohar and Zeeshan Zameer

Karachi Kings – Imad Wasim (c), Abbas Afridi, Amir Yamin, Arshad Iqbal, Babar Azam, Chadwick Walton, Danish Aziz, Martin Guptill, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Ilyas, Mohammad Haris, Thisara Perera, Najeebullah Zadran, Noor Ahmed, Qasim Akram, Sharjeel Khan, Waqas Maqsood and Zeeshan Malik

Lahore Qalandars – Sohail Akhtar (c), Ahmed Danyal, Ben Dunk, Callum Ferguson, Dilbar Hussain, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, James Faulkner, Maaz Khan, Mohammad Faizan, Mohammad Hafeez, Rashid Khan, Salman Ali Agha, Seekuge Prasana, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Sultan Ahmed, Tim David, Zaid Alam and Zeeshan Ashraf

Multan Sultans– Mohammad Rizwan (c), Asif Afridi, Hammad Azam, Imran Tahir, Imran Khan Snr, Johnson Charles, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Umar, Blessing Muzarabani, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Rilee Rossouw, Shahnawaz Dhani, Shan Masood, Shimron Hetmyer (partially available), Sohaib Maqsood, Sohaibullah, Sohail Khan, Sohail Tanvir, Usman Qadir and Muhammad Waseem

Peshawar Zalmi– Wahab Riaz (c), Abrar Ahmed, Amad Butt, Bismillah Khan, David Miller (partially available), Fabian Allen (partially available), Fidel Edwards (partially available), Haider Ali, Hazratullah Zazai, Imam-ul-Haq, Kamran Akmal, Mohammad Amir Khan, Mohammad Irfan Snr, Mohammad Imran Jnr, Mohammad Imran Randhawa, Rovman Powell, Sherfane Rutherford, Shoaib Malik, Umaid Asif and Waqar Salamkheil

Quetta Gladiators – Sarfaraz Ahmed (c), Abdul Nasir, Andre Russell (partially available), Arish Ali Khan, Azam Khan, Cameron Delport, Faf du Plessis, Hassan Khan, Jack Wildermuth, Jake Weatherald, Khurram Shehzad, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Naseem Shah, Saim Ayub, Usman Khan, Usman Shinwari, Zahid Mahmood and Zahir Khan

You may also like

%d bloggers like this: