PSL-6: Islamabad United win toss, choose to field

PSL-6: Islamabad United win toss, choose to field


Karachi: Islamabad United has won the game and chose to play the Quetta Gladiators first in the 12th game of the 6th Pakistan Premier League (PSL) at the National Cricket Stadium in Karachi on Tuesday.

Quetta Gladiators haven’t had the best of tournaments thus far in the ongoing edition of the Pakistan Super League (PSL). After the crushing defeats at the hands of Karachi Kings and Lahore Qalandars, the team, led by Sarfaraz Ahmed, went down to the Peshawar Zalmi in a nail-biting encounter. Their bowlers flattered to deceive after their batters put up 198 runs on the board.

After three losses on the trot, the Gladiators would be hoping to cease their losing-streak when they face the Islamabad United today at the National Stadium in Karachi.

On the other hand, Islamabad United have won two of their three matches so far in this year s competition.

They defeated Multan Sultan in three victories at the opening ceremony of their campaign, and then another successful pursuit, this time against the Karachi Kings.

Islamabad watched Sharjeel Khan smash a 59-ball 105 as Karachi posted 196 for 3, but then made short work of the target and romped home with five wickets and five balls to spare.

United s excellent start to the season came to an abrupt end on Saturday when, after being asked to bat first for the first time in 2021, they were skittled for 118 by Peshawar Zalmi, who knocked off the runs in 17.1 overs.

On Monday, the match had been rescheduled after The Pakistan Super League 2021 match scheduled was called off by after a player from the Islamabad United squad tested positive for the coronavirus.

Islamabad United: Paul Stirling, Rohail Nazir (wk), Alex Hales, Shadab Khan (capt), Hussain Talat, Asif Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Faheem Ashraf, Mohammad Wasim, Hasan Ali, Musa Khan.

Quetta Gladiators: Sarfaraz Ahmed (capt/wk), Faf du Plessis, Cameron Delport, Azam Khan, Saim Ayub, Ben Cutting, Mohammad Nawaz, Zahid Mehmood, Dale Steyn, Mohammad Hasnain, Naseem Shah.

You may also like

%d bloggers like this: