PM Imran leaves for Karachi on a day-long visit

PM Imran finalises names of candidates for AJK elections


ISLAMABAD: Prime Minister Imran Khan on Saturday finalised a list of his party’s candidates for the upcoming general elections in Azad Jammu and Kashmir.

Taking to social networking website, Twitter, Federal Information Minister Fawad Chaudhry said that PM Imran Khan finalized the names of the suitable candidates, who would get the party’s ticket for contesting elections in AJK.

He maintained that over 300 aspirants had submitted applications for the party tickets to contest the general elections. According to the final list, PTI’s Sultan Mehmood Chaudhry will contest elections for LA-III seat, Chaudhry Arshad will contest poll from LA-IV, Ali Shan Sony from LA-VI, Chaudhry Akhlaq, Zafar Iqbal from LA-VIII and Latif Khaliq from LA-14. PTI will contest on all the Legislative Assembly seats.

However, the Minister of Information added that candidates for the few seats will be decided at a later date.

Earlier, the Election Commission had announced that the general elections would be held in Azad Jammu and Kashmir in July-2121.

Earlier on January 15, Pakistan’s Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) decided not to form any political alliance to elect the legislative assemblies of Azad Jammu and Kashmir (AJK).

The final strategy for the election was formulated after the party’s main organizer, Saifullah Niazi, met with the head of PTI AJK Sultan Mehmood on the same day, and the two finalized the polling strategy.

You may also like

%d bloggers like this: