NASA astronauts head for space station on historic SpaceX flight

NASA astronauts head for space station on historic SpaceX flight


Kennedy Space Center: After Elon Musk ’s SpaceX became the first commercial company to put a manned rocket into orbit, two senior NASA astronauts went to the International Space Station on Saturday , Creating a new era of space travel.

SpaceX’s two-stage Falcon 9 rocket, astronauts Robert Behnken and Douglas Hurley, fired flawlessly from the bright orange flames and smoke of the Kennedy Space Center in Florida for a 19-hour cruise.

Mission Commander Hurley told SpaceX mission controllers in Hawthorne, California (SpaceX), and then lifted off from NASA’s legendary launch pad 39A at 3:22 PM (1922 GMT).

Since the end of the Space Shuttle program in 2011, the SpaceX launch is the first batch of American astronauts in the United States and the first manned flight of a private company in history.

Musk said: “I am really excited.” “It has been 18 years since this goal was achieved.

“Hopefully this is the first step towards a journey to Mars civilization,” SpaceX founder said.

NASA Administrator Jim Bradenstein said that for NASA and SpaceX, this is a “great day” and for the United States, this is an important milestone.

Bridenstine warned: “We haven’t celebrated yet.” “We will celebrate when they will go home safely.”

In a brief space interview, Hurley said that, in accordance with the tradition of letting astronauts name their spacecraft, he and Becken once named the crew capsule “Endeavour” after the name of the retired space shuttle they both took. .

Bainken said that the SpaceX capsule is a lot different from the “spaceship of the same name” because “it has a touch screen”.

The mission was called “Demo-2”, which ended the government’s monopoly on space flight, and was the last test flight before NASA approved SpaceX’s capsule for conventional manned flights.

Behnken, 49, and Hurley, 53, joined NASA in 2000. They were originally scheduled to dock with the space station at 10:29 AM on Sunday (1429 GMT).

They will take the International Space Station with American astronauts Chris Cassidy and Russian astronauts Anatoly Ivanishin and Ivan Vagner.

You may also like