NA-249 by-election: PPP wins Karachi seat after recount

NA-249 by-election: PPP wins Karachi seat after recount


Karachi: After PML-N requested a recount, Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) candidate Qadir Mandokhel once again ranked top in the NA-249 by-election.

According to detailed information, PML-N candidate Miftah Ismail has submitted a petition to the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) requesting a recount of the NA-249 by-election. After the ECP accepted the petition and issued an order on May 4, the recount took a total of three days.

In the recount, PPP candidate Qadir Mandokhel won with 15,656 votes, while Miftah Ismail of PML-N got 14,747 votes. Thus, PPP won the election by an even larger margin than before; 909 votes as compared to 683.

According to the Election Commission of Pakistan, during the recount, 500 votes for PPP’s Qadir Khan Mandokhel were rejected, 726 votes of PML-N’s Miftah Ismail, 499 votes of PSP’s Mustafa Kamal, 457 votes of banned TLP and 504 votes of MQM-Pakistan’s Hafiz Mursalin were rejected.

Moreover, 241 votes of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) candidate Amjad Afridi were rejected while independent candidate Ahmed lost 294 votes.

After the victory, PPP leader Saeed Ghani said that our victory is a victory of truth, and those who demanded a recount have been attracted by the table. He said that the people of Baldia have shown their worth to PTI.

The Minister of Health said that Qadir Khan Mandokhel will meet the expectations of Baldia Town and will do everything possible to solve its long-standing problems. He said that party workers worked hard in NA-249 and represented Asif Ali Zardari, Faryal Talpur and Birawar. Bilawal Bhutto expressed his thanks.

Although all competing parties except the Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) raised objections, the recount continued on the third day.

Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), Pak Sarzameen Party (PSP) and Muttaheda Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P) had boycotted the vote recount, claiming that the seals of vote bags were broken.

The PTI had demanded the authorities to hold re-elections in the constituency while PML-N had filed a petition in the ECP.

Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) had issued notices to the boycotting candidates to be part of the recount but they did not return.

You may also like

%d bloggers like this: