PTI MPAs attack disgruntled party members in Sindh Assembly

More than 50 Sindh Assembly lawmakers submit resignations with PPP


Karachi: More than 50 members of the Sindh Provincial Assembly under the Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) have submitted their resignations to the party leaders.

According to a spokesman for the Bilawal House, the Sindh Assembly lawmakers are visiting Bilawal House to submit their resignations. “Over 50 provincial lawmakers have submitted the resignations while remaining others are directed to submit it by Monday,” he said.

Prominent among those who have submitted their resignations are Imtiaz Shaikh, Taimur Talpur, Nida Khuhro, and others.

It is pertinent to mention here that the decision to submit resignations with the party leaderships by December 31 was made during the Pakistan Democratic Movement (PDM) meeting days back, headed by Maulana Fazlur Rehman and attended by top political leaders including Nawaz Sharif and Asif Zardari via video link and Maryam Nawaz, Bilawal Bhutto, and others in attendance.

Earlier in the day, when PPP chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari visited Jati Umrah, he threw the ball to the party’s Central Executive Committee (CEC) court to make a decision to resign.

Bilawal Bhutto denied that there were reports that PPP was not part of the PDM decision, and said that each party has dealt with the resignation issue on its political party platform, and that PPP will also be discussed on the CEC forum.

“PDM has decided to submit resignations with the party leadership by December 31,” he said adding that the PPP was also a part of this decision.

He further said that the CEC meeting would be taken into confidence regarding the issue of the resignation. “The meeting will decide on giving a sacrifice of the PPP-led Sindh government or not,” Bilawal said.

You may also like