Kuwait bans flights to several 'high risk' countries including Pakistan

Kuwait bans flights to several ‘high risk’ countries including Pakistan


Dubai: The Civil Aviation Administration said on Saturday that Kuwait has banned commercial flights to some countries, which the country said is a high risk due to the spread of the coronavirus.

These countries include India, Pakistan, Egypt, the Philippines, Lebanon and Sri Lanka. These countries have a large number of foreigners in Kuwait. The list also includes China, Iran, Brazil, Mexico, Italy and Iraq.

The ban was announced on the same day that Kuwait began to partially resume commercial flights. The authorities said that starting from Saturday, the capacity of Kuwait International Airport will reach about 30% and will gradually increase in the coming months. Egypt’s national airline, Egypt Air, also announced that it will stop flights to Gulf countries.

Kuwait, which has recorded nearly 67,000 coronavirus cases and more than 400 deaths, began a five-phase plan at the start of June to gradually lift restrictions imposed to curb the spread of the virus. A partial curfew remains in place. 

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

You may also like

Hot News