IHC grants 15 days time to federation to appoint ECP members


Islamabad: The Islamabad High Court (IHC) has given the federal government the power to appoint members of the Pakistan Election Commission (ECP) on Tuesday for more than 15 days.

During the hearing, the court was told that some members of the parliamentary committee could not be present at Monday’s meeting due to the thick fog. The legal adviser said that the rules of the previous committee did not apply to the current situation.

The IHC Chief Justice said the court can only expect opposition leaders and Prime Minister Imran Khan to jointly choose the names of these positions. He claimed that only parliamentary committees could change the rules.

The legal adviser said that Congress could process errors and that Congress was skeptical. CJ said the National Assembly should not make mistakes because it represents 220 million people.

The hearing was then postponed to January 15.

It is stated here that the government and the opposition have forwarded the nominations for the ECP members to the speaking national assembly Asad Qaiser and the senate president Sadiq Sanjarani, who then forwarded them to the parliamentary committee for consideration.

Earlier, the Prime Minister’s Office disputed the appointment of the election commissioner recommended by opposition leader Shehbaz Sharif. The suggested names are Nasir Mehmood Khosa, Jalil Abbas Jilani and Akhlaq Ahmed Tarar.

Jaleel Abbas Jilani is still the chief secretary of former prime minister Nawaz Sharif and was the chief secretary of Punjab under CM Shehbaz Sharif.

Nasir Mehmood Khosa is considered closely related to the Sharif family, and Akhlaq Tarar also served as the federal secretary.

Shehbaz Sharif insisted that Prime Minister IM Imran should have started the consultation process long ago. The person responsible for PML-N added that I am starting the process to prevent ECP failure.

The letter from President PML-N also contained three names from the provinces of Sindh and Balochistan, each nominated as members of the ECP. Opposition leaders recommend Nisar Durrani of Sindh, Lord Chancellor (withdrawal), Abdul Rasul Memon and Olanzab Ha Gram (Aurangzeb Haq).

The Baluchistan province also mentioned the names of Supreme Court Justices Shah Mohammed Jatoy, former advocates Mohamed Raf Atta and Rahila Durani.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

You may also like

Hot News