Chaudhry Nisar takes oath as member of Punjab Assembly

Chaudhry Nisar likely to take oath as Punjab MPA after three years


Lahore: Former Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) leader Chaudhry Nisar may be sworn in as a member of the Punjab Parliament.

According to people familiar with the matter, Nisar is likely to be sworn in as MPA at the May 18 meeting of the Punjab State Assembly.

It may be recalled that the Cabinet Committee on Legislation had passed an amendment to the Election Act 2017, according to which a seat will become vacant if the elected representative does not take oath within 60 days

Chaudhry Nisar, who contested as an independent candidate in the general elections from NA-59 and NA-63, lost to Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI).

According to election results, Nisar lost to PTI’s Ghulam Sarwar Khan who got 89,055 votes in NA-59 while former interior minister Ch Nisar Ali Khan got 66,369 votes.

He lost to PTI’s Ghulam Sarwar Khan in NA-63 as well. Ghulam Sarwar won with 64,301 votes while Ch Nisar stood second with 48,497 votes. PMLN’s Sardar Mumtaz Khan stood third with 22,475 votes.

However, he won a seat in the Provincial Assembly, but did not swear an oath on it.

You may also like

%d bloggers like this: