Appointment of ECP members: Parliamentary committee summons session on December 9 1

Appointment of ECP members: Parliamentary committee summons session on December 9


ISLAMABAD: Parliamentary committee has summoned its session on December 9 to finalize names for the appointment of Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) and other members of Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP).

According to the details, three fifths of the members are required for the committee to function properly.

Earlier Wednesday, a parliamentary committee of 12 legislators postponed the appointment of ECP members for a week under the supervision of Dr. Shireen Mazari, the minister of human rights.

It is stated here that the government and the opposition have forwarded the nominations for the ECP members to the speaker national assembly Asad Qaiser and the senate president Sadiq Sanjarani, who then forwarded them to the parliamentary committee for consideration.

Earlier, the Prime Minister’s Office disputed the appointment of the chief election commissioner recommended by opposition leader Shehbaz Sharif. The suggested names are Nasir Mehmood Khosa, Jalil Abbas Jilani and Akhlaq Ahmed Tarar.

Jaleel Abbas Jilani is still the chief secretary of former prime minister Nawaz Sharif and was the chief secretary of Punjab under CM Shehbaz Sharif.

Nasir Mehmood Khosa is considered closely related to the Sharif family, and Akhlaq Tarar also served as the federal secretary.

Shehbaz Sharif maintained that PM Imran should have initiated this process of consultation a long time ago. I am starting this procedure to prevent the ECP from getting non-functional, the PML-N leader added.

The letter from President PML-N also contained three names from the provinces of Sindh and Balochistan, each nominated as members of the ECP. Opposition leaders recommend Nisar Durrani of Sindh, Lord Chancellor (withdrawal), Abdul Rasul Memon and Olanzab Ha Gram (Aurangzeb Haq).

The Baluchistan province also mentioned the names of Supreme Court Justices Shah Mohammed Jatoy, former advocates Mohamed Raf Atta and Rahila Durani.

You may also like