Opposition slams PTI-led govt for 'rigging' in AJK election

All political parties except PPP boycott vote recount in NA-249 by-election


Karachi: With the exception of the Pakistan People’s Party (PPP), all political parties have boycotted the recount of the NA-249 by-election in the National Assembly (NA) constituency, claiming that the stamp of the voting bag has been damaged.

The representatives and candidates of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), Pak Sarzameen Party (PSP) Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P) left the office of returning officer.

PTI candidate Amjad Iqbal Afridi and MQM-P’s Hafiz Mursaleen have demanded re-polling in the entire constituency.

The development came after ECP had accepted the plea of PML-N and ordered recount in NA-249 by-elections.

During the hearing, PML-N candidate Miftah Ismail has submitted the details of the unsigned Form 45 to the committee and requested an investigation of the violation.

He added that recounting the votes is our top priority, and if we are not satisfied, we can take further measures.

He said the unverified forms 45 and 46 made the election questionable. PML-N candidates told reporters that 167 polling stations had no signatures on Form 45, and some voting agents did not obtain Form 46.

Earlier on April 29, 2021, PPP won the by-election in NA-249 Karachi West-II.

According to unofficial results of all 276 polling stations, PPP candidate Qadir Khan Mandokhel had secured 16,156 votes to win the NA-249 Karachi West-II by-election. PML-N candidate Miftah Ismail got 15,473 votes to remain second.

Nazir Ahmed won 11,126 votes and ranked third. Mustafa Kamal, President of PSP, received 9,227 votes and remained fourth. PTI candidate Amjad Afridi received 8,922 votes and finished fifth.

You may also like

%d bloggers like this: