Govt finalises code of conduct to improve NA proceedings

48 newly-elected members of Senate take oath


Islamabad: The 48 newly-elected members in Parliament, the upper house of the Senate today (Friday) took vows during the meeting.

According to details, Senator Muzaffar Hussain Shah has chaired the session.

As per schedule, the session will be adjourned after the oath-taking event. During the break, nomination papers for the Senate chairman and deputy chairman would be submitted.

The session would resume in the evening to elect the chairman and deputy chairman. Names of the candidates would be announced during the session and later a secret ballot will be held.

After the winners are announced, the new chairman of the Senate and the vice chairman will take the oath.

You may also like

%d bloggers like this: