According to sources, the government will propose to the Punjab Election Commission (PEC) on February 1 for the first phase of elections in DG Khan, Multan, Bahawalpur and Gujranwala divisions, which has been approved by the PTI leadership and Punjab Chief Minister Usman Bazdar. The final decision on the proposal of the Punjab government will be taken by the Election Commission. Meanwhile, the Punjab government has announced the first phase of local body elections on May 15.

Voting for first phase of LG elections in 17 KP districts underway


Peshawar: Voting for the first phase of local government elections in 17 districts of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa is underway.

Voting starts at 8 in the morning and continues until 5 in the afternoon without any breaks.

The 17 districts where elections will be held include Peshawar, Nowshera, Charsadda, Khyber, Mohmand, Mardan, Swabi, Kohat, Karak, Hangu, Bannu, Lakki Marwat, Dera Ismail Khan, Tank, Haripur, Buner and Bajaur.

Over 12.668 million registered voters, including 7,015,757 male and 5,653,095 female voters, would decide the fate of 37,752 candidates contesting for different seats, while 4,188 polling stations have been declared sensitive and 2,507 most sensitive. 

You may also like