PTI decides to investigate defeat in first phase of KP local govt elections

PTI decides to investigate defeat in first phase of KP local govt elections


PESHAWAR: The ruling Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) has decided to conduct investigation into party’s defeat in the first phase of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa local government elections.

According to sources, Mohammed Khan, Chief Minister of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Province, submitted a report on violation of party policy to Prime Minister Imran Khan. The report was compiled in Peshawar, Mardan, Swabi, Bannu, Dera Ismail Khan and other regions.

The ruling party has decided to prepare a charge sheet for supporting opponent candidates in the elections. Show cause notices will be served to the MNAs and MPAs.

Earlier on Tuesday, Prime Minister Imran Khan said his party had paid the price for “mistakes” in recent local elections and he would personally supervise future strategy for his side’s campaign after a PTI candidate lost a coveted mayoral seat in a province the premier’s party has ruled since 2013.

Local elections were held in 17 districts of Pakistan’s northwestern Khyber Pakhtunkhwa province on Sunday.

In a second phase, local elections will be held in the remaining 18 districts of KP on January 16. Local polls are also planned in the coming months in Pakistan’s other provinces.

Earlier, Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) directed the candidates, who emerged victorious in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) local government elections, to submit details of election expenses.

The commission spokesman has warned of not issuing victory notification if the candidates fail to submit the required documents within 10 days.

On the other hand, according to unconfirmed and unofficial results of 58 out of 64 seats, Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam-Fazl (JUI-F) has won 21 seats of Tehsil Chairmen including three mayoral elections.

So far, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) won 14 Tehsil Chairman seats while Awami National Party (ANP) bagged 8 seats including one Mayor and seven Tehsil Chairmen seats.

Seven Independent candidates won the election of Tehsil Chairman.

Pakistan Muslim League-N won 3 seats, Jamaat-e-Islami won 2 seats, Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) and Tehreek-e-Islah Pakistan won one seat each.

You may also like