ECP may seek guidance from judiciary for announcement of single date polls: President

President approves reconstitution of National Economic Council


ISLAMABAD: President Dr Arif Alvi on Tuesday approved the reorganization of the National Economic Council (NEC) under Article 156 of the constitution.

The Prime Minister will chair the NEC and the chief ministers of the provinces will serve as members.

On the federal side, members include Planning Minister Ahsan Iqbal, Finance Minister Miftah Ismail, Commerce Minister Syed Navid Kamal and Communications Minister Asad Mehmu Germany.

The names of Sardar Awais Ahmed Khan Leghari (Punjab), Senator Nisar Khoro (Sindh), Taimur Saleem Jhagra (Khyber Pukhtunkhwa) and Noor Muhammad Damar (Balochsitan) have been approved for NEC.

The Deputy Director of the Planning Commission, the Financial Secretary, the Economic Secretary and the Planning Secretary will be invited to attend the meeting.

You may also like