President Alvi condemns Dera Ismail Khan bomb blast

President Alvi refuses to administer oaths to federal cabinet members; ceremony postponed: sources


ISLAMABAD: President Arif Alvi on Saturday exempted members of the federal cabinet from taking the oath, before citing sources as saying the ceremony was postponed.

In the absence of President Alvi, Senate President Sadiq Sanjarani will preside over the oath of federal cabinet members, according to sources.

Meanwhile, sources at the presidential palace said the swearing-in ceremony could take place tomorrow (Tuesday) or the day after (Wednesday).

The federal cabinet is scheduled to take the oath tonight at 8.30pm; however, when contacted by the prime minister’s office, Alvi declined to take the oath.

Earlier, in an informal conversation with reporters, PPP leader Khurshid Shah revealed that the PML-N will have a majority in the cabinet with 14 ministries. PPP will have 11 and JUI-F will have four ministries. Meanwhile, the remaining seven positions will be allocated to other allies.

You may also like