KP LG polls: JUI-F wins seat from Lakki Marwat on vote recount

KP LG polls: JUI-F wins seat from Lakki Marwat on vote recount


LAKKI MARWAT: Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam-F (JUI-F) won the seat of Lakki Marwat when the votes were recounted in the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) Local Government (LG) poll on Wednesday.

JUI-F won a clear victory for KP LG, which included 17 chairperson seats and 3 mayor seats, while PTI failed to win a mayor seat.

Maulana Anwar Badshah of JUI-F won by bagging 1,021 votes while the PTI candidate Noor Gul gained 647 votes and independent candidate Zahoorudin captured 587 votes.

Election campaign for the Local Government (LG) elections in 17 districts of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) were held between the night between Friday and Saturday while the voting held on Sunday December 19.

Polling started at 8:00am on Sunday (December 19) and continued till 5:00pm without any interval.

In the first phase of the LG polls, elections were held in 17 districts on December 19. The polls in the rest of the province will be held in January in the second phase.

The districts where the election were held include Peshawar, Nowshera, Charsadda, Khyber, Mohmand, Mardan, Swabi, Kohat, Karak, Hangu, Bannu, Lakki Marwat, DI Khan, Tank, Haripur, Buner and Bajaur.

According to sources, there were12,668,862 registered voters who exercised their right to vote. There were 7,015,767 male voters and 5,653,095 female voters.

The Election Commission had set up 9,223 polling stations with a total number of 28,892 polling booths. At least 4,188 polling stations were declared sensitive and 2,507 highly sensitive.

A total of 19,285 candidates were contesting for the seats of general councillors at 2,359 village councils and neighbourhood councils (VCNCs) while the number of women candidates is 3,870 women seats for the same number of VCNCs.

Similarly, 7,428 candidates ran for farmer/worker seats, 6,011 candidates were young people, and 293 candidates were ethnic minorities. In addition, there are 689 candidates competing for the seats of mayor and Deshi chairman.

You may also like