Lahore will prove it is heart of Pakistan: Hamza

Hamza Shahbaz elected new Punjab CM


Lahore: The Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) leader has been caught by 197 votes as the No. 21 chief minister of Punjab.

Following the resignation of Sardar Usman Buzdar, the conference was called to elect a new chief minister.

A chaos ensued in Pakistan s Punjab Assembly after the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf (PTI) lawmakers threw “lotas (round vessel)” at Deputy Speaker Dost Mohammad Mazari as he arrived to chair the session for the election of the Chief Minister.

The PTI lawmakers set off a ruckus in the Assembly as they brought “lotas” to the House and started chanting “lota, lota (turncoats)”, lashing out at dissident PTI members, who parted ways with the party and decided to support the Opposition

The lawmakers of the ruling party also threw “lotas” at Mazari and then attacked him despite the presence of security guards. Earlier, the session was delayed after PTI lawmakers manhandled Deputy Speaker. 

On the other hand, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) and Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid (PML-Q) staged a march out of the provincial assembly after Pervaiz Elahi was injured in the unrest.

You may also like