Gilgit Baltistan all set to elect new chief minister today

Gilgit Baltistan all set to elect new chief minister today


Gilgit: The new chief minister of Gilgit-Baltistan is being elected today (Monday).

The vote for the new leader of the House of Representatives will be held in the afternoon. Nominated papers were originally scheduled to be received before 11:30 in the morning.

The candidate withdrew the nomination document until 2 pm.

After the general election, the results will be announced at 4 pm.

PTI has nominated Barrister Khalid Khurshid, it was finalised at a meeting chaired by Prime Minister Imran Khan and attended by PTI Chief Organiser Saifullah Khan Nyazee in Islamabad on Friday.

The party has taken the keyway of GB Speaker Amjad Ali after his election earlier this week.

On November 24, the PTI government announced that it is set to form its government in GB after securing a majority in the Legislative Assembly following the 2020 election.

The party grabbed 10 seats in the general elections. But after gaining the support of six independent winners and allotment of six reserved seats, PTI secured 22 out of the 33 seats in the Assembly.

Per a notification by Chief Election Commissioner Gilgit-Baltistan Raja Shahbaz Khan, the PTI was declared successful in 10 seats, independent candidates won seven seats, PPP obtained three, PML-N won two, whereas JUI and MWM won one seat each.

You may also like