Imran Khan happy with top court’s judgment on NAB law amendments: PTI lawyer

First in Pakistan: Imran Khan files nomination papers for nine NA constituencies


ISLAMABAD: Nomination papers for PTI chairman Imran Khan have been submitted from all nine constituencies in the National Assembly.

For the first time in the country’s electoral history, a candidate will run from nine constituencies at the same time as Imran Khan decides to run in by-elections for all NA seats. He also broke the record in the 2018 general election, when he won polls in five constituencies across the country.

His papers were organized by Mardan, Charsada, Peshawar, Kulam, Faisalabad, South Khana, Mariel, Kerangi and Karachi South district constituencies NA-22, 24, 31, 45, The PTI leader of 108, 118, 237, 239 and 246 submitted. In these constituencies, he will face candidates from the multi-party ruling coalition.

Covered candidates for PTI also submitted their nomination documents. Meanwhile, PTI has sent Shandana Gulzar, Rohaila Hamid and Mehwish Ali Khan to the reserved seats for women.

After National Assembly Speaker Raja Pervaiz Ashraf accepted the resignation of 11 PTI lawmakers on July 28, the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) declared September 25 as polling day, nine of whom were Ordinary members, 2 are reserved seats.

After the party’s landslide victory in the Punjab vote last month, the PTI chairman is determined to contest in all nine constituencies, in which the party won 15 of 20 seats.

Last week, the Islamabad High Court rejected PTI’s request to suspend the voting schedule. The IHC said the electoral process would continue and by-elections for the other 123 constituencies would be completed at a later date.

You may also like