National Assembly passes Official Secrets amendment bill

ECP suspends membership of 150 parliamentarians


ISLAMABAD: The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has suspended the membership of 150 members of Parliament, including Farrukh Habib, Hammad Azhar and Shafqat Mahmood.

The memberships have been revoked for not submitting statement of assets and liabilities. The suspended members include Noor-ul-Haq Qadri, Farrukh Habib, Hammad Azhar, Shafqat Mahmood, Fehmida Mirza, Amir Liaquat, Raja Riaz, Sadaqat Abbasi, Khalid Maqbool Siddiqui, Senator Musaddiq Malik, Senator Sikandar Mandhro, Makhdoom Sami Ul Hassan, Syed Mubeen Ahmed and Javaid Iqbal.

The membership of 36 members of the National Assembly (NA), three members of Senate and 69 members of the Punjab Assembly has been suspended. Former Federal Minister for Power Awais Leghari is also among in the suspended members, whereas, the membership of 14 members of Sindh Assembly, 21 members of KPK Assembly and 7 members of Balochistan Assembly has also been suspended. Sardar Yar Mohammad Rind is also a part of the list.

Under the ECP, suspended members will not be able to attend meetings of Parliament and the Senate. They will not be involved in any kind of legislation.

You may also like